Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Wings of a Dream by Anne Mateer

While war rages in Europe...

Rebekah Hendricks dreams of life far beyond the family farm in Oklahoma, and when dashing aviator Arthur Samson promises adventure in the big city, she is quick to believe he's the man she's to marry. While she waits for the end of the Great War and Arthur's return, her mother's sister falls ill. 

And when a telegram arrives in October of 1918, she believes God has provided her way of escape. After all, caring for her estranged Aunt Adabelle means living closer to dashing aviator Arthur Samson in Dallas, well within reach of the exciting, modern life she desires. Rebekah travels to Texas, sure that her glamorous and exciting life is about to start. 

But the Spanish flu epidemic changes everything. Faced with her aunt's sickness, Arthur's indecisiveness, four children who have no one to care for them, Rebekah discovers she must choose between her desire to escape the type of life she's always led and the unexpected love that just might change the dream of her heart.

Will Rebekah allow God to rearrange her dreams?

I enjoyed reading this books so much. Watching Rebekah grow from a young girl into a young woman was a process that took her through many difficult situations, not unlike our lives today. It was true to character how from time to time the young 19 year old selfish attitude and childlike behavior came out. She wasn't a person who was too good to be true. You saw her weakness and her strength. 

I would recommend this book to young ladies planning their futures as well as those of us who have lived many years. It is a good reminder that sometimes God has other plans for us than we do for ourselves. We need to remember that His plans for us are greater than any we can come up with on our own. We just have to be willing to allow Him to change our dreams into the ones He has for us. 


Want More:

Her Books and Stories:

Her story "Let it Snow" in  "A Scrapbook of Christmas First"

Her story "Just Like Ben" in "Nancy's Christmas Eve Visitor

Monday, September 12, 2011

Deeply Devoted by Maggie Brendan

She is staking her future on a man she's never met. Can she learn to love him?

When Catharine Olsen leaves Holland for Wyoming as a mail-order bride, she brings some extra baggage with her: two sisters, her mother's set of Blue Willow china, and a tragic past. As she steps off the train, Peter Andersen is glad to see that she is everything her letters showed her to be. But he is a bit perturbed by her unexpected companions. How will he support them all? And what other secrets might Catharine be keeping from him?

Filled with sweet romance and vivid characters, Deeply Devoted highlights a clash of cultures as highborn European and a simple wheat farmer learn to love one another and trust God with the past - and the future.


I enjoyed Deeply Devoted greatly. The place came alive for me so much that I dreamed of going to Wyoming while I was reading it. And the detail she gives on her research at the end of the book about the city made it even more so. I loved the three sisters. They were each unique and it is my hope that their stories will be in the upcoming books in the series. Catharine was a brave young woman who cared deeply for her sisters. She came from a life totally different than the one she was to live now but each of the girls worked very hard to learn the things needed to help out and make their new life work. 

It was a sweet romance that built out of a friendship. But the secrets they each had put distance between them  at times. Her secrets were of a higher degree than his and were harder to see past. Fear has a way of keeping us from telling the truth. But it is true, the truth will set you free. When you build your relationships on trust it is much sweeter. 


Want More:

Her Books: 

The Blue Willow Bride Series

Book One: Deeply Devoted 

Book Two: Three Little Words coming soon

Book Three: Timeless Perfection coming soon

Heart of the West Series

Book One: No Place For A Lady 

Book Two: The Jewel of His Heart

Book Three: A Love of Her Own