Friday, January 14, 2011

Finding Becky & Caroline's Choice by Martha Rogers

Will Becky's newfound independence lead her away from friends, family, and even God?

 Rob Frankston has waited four years for Becky Haynes to come home, but she arrives back in Barton Creek newly graduated from college with an independent spirit that puzzles him. What's more, she is accompanied by Geoff Kensington, a recent acquaintance who is showing more than a passing interest in her.

Becky is flattered and taken in by Geoff's attentions, but when strange accidents start happening around the town, Rob becomes suspicious. Believing the old Becky is hidden beneath her facade of new found independence, he is determined to find and bring her back. Is it just jealousy? Or will he find answers and convince Becky to return to the faith of her childhood before it's too late?

Book three in the Winds Across the Prairie series brings you back to the town of Barton Creek, providing a glimpse into everyday life at a time when Oklahoma was drawing homesteaders to its territory before the days of statehood.


Finding Becky

This is my favorite out of the four. In book one, Becoming Lucy, you meet Becky as a young girl. Throughout Morning for Dove, you see her grow up just a bit more. When Becky comes home from college with all the new ideas you see her trying to act like a city girl. Deep down, she is still the country girl she always was. At the same time you see her new knowledge of what woman could be a part of as Oklahoma draws closer to becoming a state. She forsakes her faith for a time, thinking herself to independent to need God. What a blessing to see that in a story about such a strong young lady and how she finds out God isn't just there for us when things go wrong but when things go right.

Martha is a gifted writer and has made these early days in Oklahoma seem so real to the reader. It was interesting to read about how the country was changing so rapidly and how it effected the people living in the area.

Check out her website:


Will Caroline finally find the adventure she longs for- or is she fleeing the very things that matter most?

At age twenty-six, Caroline Frankston is certain life is passing her by in the town of Barton Creek. Her feelings for Matthew Haynes appear unrequited, so she decides the time has come for her to move to the big city for a fresh start.

Once in Oklahoma City, Caroline is fascinated by the many opportunities there and begins moving on with her life. As time passes, Matt realizes his true feelings for her and plans to tell her on her next trip home. When Caroline goes missing after her train is in an accident, Matt sets out in search of her, wondering if any chance of spending his life with Caroline has disappeared.

Book four in the Winds Across the Prairie series brings you back to the town of Barton Creek, providing a glimpse into everyday life at a time when Oklahoma draws closer to statehood.


Caroline's Choice

This book is filled with all of the wonderful characters we met in the other three books plus more. It is a great book of discovery and growth. One of finding and seeking God's will for our lives and understanding that His plan is the best for us. It also shows us that love can overcome many obstacles.

I would recommend this series to anyone. They are good for any age.

Check out her website:

No comments:

Post a Comment